Three independent testing organisations rank US mobile networks. In the most recent round they named three different winners.
That is not a failure of measurement. It is the actual state of the American market, and it is the reason every "best carrier" article you have read contradicts the last one. The useful question is not which carrier wins. It is which one wins the thing you need.
Key takeaways
- T-Mobile wins speed: Ookla's Best Mobile Network and Best 5G Network for H1 2026, a 275.55 Mbps median download, and fastest provider in 47 states.
- Verizon wins coverage experience (9.7/10 on Opensignal) and Most Reliable 5G in RootMetrics drive testing for the twelfth consecutive time.
- AT&T wins Time on Network at 99.6% and Call Performance outright in RootMetrics' controlled testing.
- RootMetrics has named a different overall winner in each of the last three halves: AT&T, then Verizon, then a tie.
- The FCC's own figures: 5G reaches 95.2% of Americans but only 39.2% of American land. Coverage from three or more carriers reaches just 8.4% of the land.
- Verizon's coverage reputation is an LTE reputation. On 5G land area the FCC puts Verizon third at 12%, against 30% each for T-Mobile and AT&T.
- Our US country plans run on Verizon, which means strong coverage and edge reliability, and the slowest speeds of the three.
The three-winners problem
RootMetrics does something the crowdsourced firms cannot. It drives predetermined routes, 243,000 miles of them in its most recent half, and tests from fixed indoor locations rather than wherever users happen to be standing. Here is what it found across three consecutive reporting halves.
| Report | Overall winner |
|---|---|
| 1H 2025 | AT&T |
| 2H 2025 | Verizon, taking Overall and Reliability from AT&T |
| 1H 2026 | AT&T and Verizon tie |
Over the same period Ookla named T-Mobile Best Mobile Network every single time.
The overall RootScores for the first half of 2026 explain why the ranking keeps moving: Verizon 98.4, AT&T 98.3, T-Mobile 97.3, out of 100. A tenth of a point separates first from second. When the margin is that thin, the winner changes whenever the methodology tilts slightly, and neither firm is being careless.
The scoreboard, metric by metric
From Opensignal's January 2026 report, covering 1 September to 29 November 2025, alongside Ookla and RootMetrics results for the first half of 2026.
Three of the row labels need a gloss. Consistent Quality is the share of tests where the connection was good enough for things like video calls. Reliability Experience is Opensignal's 100 to 1000 composite for whether a connection succeeds and holds. 5G Availability is the share of time a 5G-capable phone spends connected to 5G rather than to 4G, which is different from the 0-10 Coverage Experience score in the row above it.
All rows are Opensignal's January 2026 figures unless the row says otherwise.
| Metric | AT&T | T-Mobile | Verizon |
|---|---|---|---|
| Download speed (Opensignal) | 74.9 Mbps | 184.7 Mbps | 73.8 Mbps |
| Coverage Experience, 0-10 (Opensignal) | 9.3 | 9.0 | 9.7 |
| 5G Coverage Experience, 0-10 | 7.4 | 8.3 | 7.6 |
| Time on Network | 99.6% | 99.1% | 99.5% |
| 5G Availability (Opensignal) | 88.7% | 91.2% | 59.3% |
| Consistent Quality | 79.7% | 82.2% | 80.3% |
| Reliability Experience, 100-1000 | 932 | 937 | 933 |
| Call Performance (RootMetrics, 1H 2026) | outright win | not separately reported | not separately reported |
| Most Reliable 5G (RootMetrics) | did not win | did not win | 98.8 of 100, 12th straight |
Ookla's own H1 2026 figures point the same way: T-Mobile's median download of 275.55 Mbps leads, with AT&T next at 159.3, and T-Mobile's median 5G download of 314.38 Mbps leads Verizon's 218.95.
On voice specifically, RootMetrics' 2H 2025 round scored T-Mobile at 92.4 for call performance against 97.1 for both Verizon and AT&T, the widest single gap between T-Mobile and its rivals in that testing.
Opensignal's January 2026 award tally was T-Mobile 12, Verizon 3, AT&T 1. By July 2026 T-Mobile took 12 of 16 categories while, in Android Authority's summary, "Verizon dominated with the widest network coverage in the US."
Two things in that table deserve a second look.
Reliability Experience separates the three by five points out of a possible 1000. On the measure of whether the network holds up at all, these are the same network three times over.
5G Availability is the widest gap on the board, at 59.3% for Verizon against 91.2% for T-Mobile. It is also the metric most likely to change what you experience on a 5G-capable phone.
Where "Verizon has the best coverage" breaks
Verizon wins Opensignal's Coverage Experience outright and takes Ookla's Best Mobile Coverage award. Ookla scores that award on what it calls a Coverage Score, where Verizon reached 30.4. Ookla describes it as reflecting the spatial extent of a provider's verified coverage, but does not publish what the figure is a proportion of, so we are not going to translate it into a share of the country. Both are real results from independent firms.
Then you open the per-carrier table published by the Federal Communications Commission, the US telecoms regulator, built from data the carriers themselves file. The picture inverts.
The FCC reports coverage at two speed thresholds, written as download over upload: 7/1 Mbps means 7 Mbps down and 1 Mbps up, and 35/3 Mbps means 35 down and 3 up. Here is the lower bar.
5G at 7/1 Mbps or better, data as of 31 December 2023:
| Carrier | Population | Road miles | US land area |
|---|---|---|---|
| T-Mobile | 92% | 59% | 30% |
| AT&T | 85% | 55% | 30% |
| Verizon | 75% | 35% | 12% |
On 5G land area, Verizon covers less than half of what either rival covers. Raise the bar to 35/3 Mbps and Verizon reaches 9% of US land.
Verizon's coverage reputation is not fictional. It is an LTE reputation, and on LTE the ordering changes again. Here is the FCC's 2022 report, using December 2021 data.
| Carrier | Population (LTE) | US land area (LTE) |
|---|---|---|
| AT&T | above 97% | above 64% |
| Verizon | above 97% | above 58% |
| T-Mobile | about 93% | 36% |
The number that reframes the question
Here is the statistic that makes American coverage marketing make sense.
Roughly 21% of Americans live in rural areas, and those areas are about 97% of the country's geography. Population coverage and land-area coverage are therefore measuring almost disjoint things, and a carrier can claim to cover nearly everybody while covering very little ground, and be telling the truth.
The FCC's most recent aggregate, for 5G at 35/3 Mbps from any provider as of 30 June 2025:
| All US | Urban | Rural | Tribal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 95.2% | 99.4% | 79.7% | 85.7% |
| Road miles | 69.2% | 99.0% | 59.5% | 55.9% |
| Land area | 39.2% | 98.2% | 37.5% | 37.6% |
Coverage from three or more providers reaches 73.8% of the population but 8.4% of the land. So for the overwhelming majority of American territory, switching carriers is not a meaningful choice: there is one network or none.
Carrier square-mile claims should be read against this. T-Mobile advertises 1.9 million square miles of Extended Range 5G. AT&T advertises roughly 3 million square miles. Verizon does not lead with a square-mile number at all, advertising instead that its LTE network reaches more than 99% of the population.
None of those carries a published methodology. The one case that has been examined in detail is Verizon's: it marketed a "450,000 square mile coverage advantage" for two years that third-party data did not support, as Urgent Communications documented in 2020. We have no equivalent audit of the T-Mobile or AT&T square-mile figures, so treat all three as unverified marketing rather than as debunked.
Rural, and what no carrier fixes
FCC rural population coverage, 5G at 7/1 Mbps: T-Mobile 70%, AT&T 61%, Verizon 38%. At 35/3 Mbps: T-Mobile 49%, AT&T 33%, Verizon 29%.
RootMetrics found 5G availability of 96.1% for T-Mobile, 89.0% for Verizon and 88.2% for AT&T in the first half of 2026, with Verizon's figure up almost nine points on the previous half. Verizon also won Best 5G Experience, which RootMetrics attributed to consistent performance "in both major cities and rural areas."
The practical reading for a visitor: on 5G reach into rural America, T-Mobile leads on the FCC's numbers and on availability. On reliability once you are at the edge of a cell, Verizon and AT&T lead. And in the 60% of American land with no 5G from anyone, none of this applies, so download offline maps before you drive into a national park.
One more figure worth carrying. Aggregate national mobile speed across all three carriers rose from about 192 Mbps in the first half of 2024 to 334 Mbps in the first half of 2026. Over the same period the share of download tests running on 5G went from roughly 84% to 93%. Whichever network you land on is faster than it was two years ago.
What this means when you buy
Our United States country plans all run on Verizon. AT&T and T-Mobile appear in our catalogue too, but they carry the US leg of our multi-country global plans rather than a US-only plan. The plan card names the network in every case.
| Plan | Price | Network |
|---|---|---|
| United States 5GB, 15 days | from $4.95 | Verizon |
| United States 5GB Unlimited, 5 days | from $6.95 | Verizon |
| United States 7GB Unlimited, 15 days | from $8.95 | Verizon |
| United States 10GB, 15 days | from $8.95 | Verizon |
| United States 10GB Unlimited, 5 days | from $12.95 | Verizon |
| United States 20GB, 15 days | from $18.00 | Verizon |
Prices are the referral price our own plan links carry, verified on 8 September 2026 after the September repricing. List prices without a referral are higher. Plans marked Unlimited carry a daily full-speed allowance and then continue at a reduced speed.
Given everything above, here is the trade-off you are accepting on a Verizon-routed plan, stated as the data has it rather than as we would prefer it.
What you get. The network that wins Opensignal's Coverage Experience outright at 9.7 out of 10, takes Ookla's Best Mobile Coverage award, and has won RootMetrics' Most Reliable 5G category twelve times running. On the measure of whether a connection holds together at the edge of a cell, Verizon is the strongest of the three.
What you give up. Speed, and 5G reach. T-Mobile's median download is roughly 1.7 times Verizon's in Ookla's testing, and Verizon's 5G Availability of 59.3% is more than thirty points behind T-Mobile's. If your trip is a data-heavy city stay where you will be tethering a laptop, T-Mobile is the better network and we do not currently sell a US-only plan on it.
Two cases where that trade lands well: road trips and national-park routes, where coverage experience and edge reliability matter more than peak throughput, and any trip where a dropped call is worse than a slow download. One case where it does not: a week in Manhattan streaming and hotspotting, where you are buying the slowest of the three national networks.
If you want AT&T specifically, our global multi-country plans use it for their US leg, so a traveller passing through several countries can reach AT&T that way.
What we cannot tell you
We do not know whether US carriers apply different network priority to roaming traffic than to their own subscribers. No carrier publishes it, the FCC does not require its disclosure, and we are not going to infer it from a speed test.
We also have not tested these networks ourselves. Every figure in this post comes from the FCC, Opensignal, Ookla or RootMetrics, and each is linked so you can check it. Where those organisations disagree, which is often, we have shown the disagreement rather than picking a winner and hoping you do not check the others.
The verdict
There is no best US carrier, and the market is close enough that anyone who tells you otherwise has picked a metric without telling you which one.
T-Mobile is the fastest network in America by a wide margin and has the broadest 5G reach on the FCC's numbers. Verizon is the most reliable at the edge of coverage and wins coverage experience. AT&T stays connected the highest share of the time and handles voice best. Those three sentences are all true at once, from independent sources, in the same year.
The bigger point is the one the coverage maps hide. American 5G reaches 95% of Americans and 39% of America. Which of those two numbers describes your trip depends entirely on where you are going.
Get a USA eSIM on Verizon
Our US country plans run on the network that wins coverage experience and edge reliability. One QR code, named carrier, no roaming bill.
See USA eSIM PlansFrequently asked questions
Which carrier has the best coverage in the USA?+
Is T-Mobile or Verizon better in 2026?+
Does the USA really have 95% 5G coverage?+
Will my phone work in US national parks and rural areas?+
Which US network does my Lotsotravel eSIM use?+
Why do different reports name different best US carriers?+
Methodology
How we did this comparison
This post draws on four independent sources, each linked below. Opensignal and Ookla's Speedtest data are crowdsourced from ordinary users' handsets. RootMetrics, which Ookla owns, runs controlled drive and walk testing, covering 243,000 driven miles and 6,900 indoor locations in its most recent half. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) publishes the per-carrier coverage figures carriers file with it.
Opensignal's report pages return HTTP 403 to automated access, so those figures were read from Internet Archive captures and from secondary coverage in Broadband Breakfast and Android Authority. All are linked so you can check the tables yourself.
On the FCC data, one warning we have applied throughout: the per-carrier 5G table (data as of 31 December 2023) and the per-carrier LTE table (data as of December 2021) come from different collection regimes. The LTE figures are Form 477 self-reporting; the 5G figures come from the stricter Broadband Data Collection. They are not a time series and the apparent drop between them is methodology, not networks shrinking. We report both and say which is which rather than blending them.
Carrier-claimed square-mile coverage figures are labelled as marketing wherever they appear. They have a documented history of being unreliable, and no carrier publishes the methodology behind them.
What this post does not measure: we ran no tests of our own, and nothing here is a Lotsotravel measurement. We do not compare customer support. We make no claim about whether roaming traffic is prioritised differently from domestic traffic on US networks, because no carrier or regulator publishes that. Carrier assignments for our own plans were read from our live product API on 7 September 2026 and can change when our supplier's catalogue changes, which is what the carrierVerified date tracks.
Sources & references
We verify carrier and regulator pricing directly from primary sources before publishing. Pricing is current as of the article's last update — always confirm rates on the carrier's site before you travel.
- 2024 Communications Marketplace Report (per-carrier 5G coverage by population, road miles and land area, paras. 130-140) — Federal Communications Commission
- 2026 Section 706 Report (5G availability as of 30 June 2025, paras. 38-41) — Federal Communications Commission
- 2022 Communications Marketplace Report (per-carrier 4G LTE coverage, para. 148) — Federal Communications Commission
- United States Speedtest Connectivity Report, H1 2026 — Ookla
- United States Speedtest Connectivity Report, H2 2025 — Ookla
- RootMetrics US State of the Mobile Union, 1H 2026 — RootMetrics (Ookla)
- RootMetrics US State of the Mobile Union, 2H 2025 — RootMetrics (Ookla)
- RootMetrics US State of the Mobile Union, 1H 2025 — RootMetrics (Ookla)
- USA Mobile Network Experience Report, January 2026 (archived capture) — Opensignal
- USA Mobile Network Experience Report, June 2025 (archived capture) — Opensignal
- T-Mobile leads in Opensignal's 2026 U.S. mobile network report — Broadband Breakfast
- How network testing methods shape U.S. mobile rankings — Broadband Breakfast
- T-Mobile fastest, Verizon widest: Ookla and Opensignal July 2026 reports — Android Authority
- Verizon overall RootScore results, January 2026 (archived capture) — PCMag
- Verizon coverage map and population coverage claim (carrier-published) — Verizon
- T-Mobile coverage map and Extended Range 5G claim (carrier-published, archived capture) — T-Mobile
- Carrier square-mile coverage claims examined against third-party data — Urgent Communications
About the author
Lotsotravel Team
The Lotsotravel editorial team writes hands-on guides for international travelers. We test eSIMs on real devices in real destinations, monitor Canadian and U.S. carrier pricing weekly, and compare coverage across local network partners before we recommend a plan. Every comparison post is updated when carriers change their rates so the numbers you read here match what you would pay today.
Last updated: September 9, 2026
