Back to blog
    The True Cost of du (UAE) Roaming Bundles in Europe (2026) vs. Lotsotravel eSIM
    ComparisonsOctober 18, 202611 min read

    The True Cost of du (UAE) Roaming Bundles in Europe (2026) vs. Lotsotravel eSIM

    Updated Oct 19, 2026Pricing verified Oct 19, 20269 sources cited

    Fourteen days through Italy and France on du's cheapest route to Europe costs AED 200, about $54 USD, on a prepaid or a postpaid line. The same fortnight on a Lotsotravel Europe eSIM is $8.95. That gap is the whole argument, and the rest of this piece is the arithmetic behind it.

    du does not sell a Europe rate. It sells one global shelf of roaming bundles valid across more than 120 preferred destinations, and a traveller flying to Milan picks from the same shelf as one flying to Manila. Prepaid and postpaid lines see different shelves. Bundles are priced per allowance and validity rather than per day, and choosing the wrong one for your trip length can cost several times the entire eSIM alternative.

    We sell the eSIM in the right-hand column of every table below, so we have a stake in the answer. To keep it checkable, every du figure comes from du's own roaming pages and each page is linked. Where a number is not published or not self-serve we leave it out rather than estimating it. Where du's product is better designed than its competitors', which is true of one thing in particular, we say so.

    Traveller checking a smartphone map while walking through a European old town street
    du's daily roaming bundle costs about $133 USD across a two-week European trip, and delivers 7GB. The same trip on a Lotsotravel Europe eSIM is $8.95.

    Key takeaways

    • du's cheapest weekly roaming bundle is AED 100: 10GB for 7 days on postpaid, 3GB for 7 days on prepaid. The daily bundle is AED 35 for 500MB. There is no Europe-specific price.
    • Effective cost per gigabyte runs from AED 70 ($19.06) on the daily bundle to AED 10 ($2.72) on the best postpaid weekly. A Lotsotravel Europe 10GB plan works out at $0.89 per gigabyte.
    • Across five real European itineraries, the eSIM costs 78-89% less than du's cheapest self-serve route, on both prepaid and postpaid lines.
    • du blocks data roaming entirely when no bundle is active. No bundle means no bill, which is a better default than most carriers in this series.
    • The daily bundle stops at 500MB rather than throttling, and the auto-renewing version does not renew early if you finish the allowance before the day is out.
    • Prepaid lines can use mobile data only on LTE while roaming, and du warns that calls and SMS will not work in destinations that have retired 2G and 3G.
    • Bundles apply on du's preferred networks only, so a handset that latches onto a smaller local operator is outside the bundle.

    The two price tags, side by side

    du roaming bundlesLotsotravel Europe eSIM
    CostAED 35/day to AED 1,200/year (~$9.53-327 USD)From $4.95 USD (3GB / 10 days)
    Triggers onBuying a bundle. Nothing is metered without oneManual activation when you turn data on
    Phone numberKeeps your UAE number activeData-only. du number stays active separately
    Data allowance500MB to 50GB, plus unlimited bundles on postpaidDedicated bucket (3-50GB, or unlimited tiers)
    If you buy nothingData roaming is blockedNo equivalent; the eSIM is inert until installed
    When the allowance runs outBundle stops. Buy another or go offlineTop up with another plan, or move to a larger one
    Coveragedu's preferred networks, 120+ destinations33 European countries on one plan
    Setupdu app, or SMS to 5102One-time QR scan
    Bill predictabilityFixed, but only if you picked the right bundleFixed price paid before you fly

    du's roaming shelf, priced

    Here are the consumer bundles du lists for Zone A, which includes every European country, with the per-gigabyte figure that du does not publish worked out alongside.

    BundlePriceAllowance and validityLineEffective cost per GB
    Daily data, one time or auto-renewalAED 35 (~$9.53)500MB, 24 hoursBothAED 70 (~$19.06)
    Voice and data, dailyAED 50 (~$13.61)1GB, 24 hours, with callsPrepaidAED 50 (~$13.61)
    Weekly dataAED 100 (~$27.23)10GB, 7 daysPostpaidAED 10 (~$2.72)
    Voice and data, weeklyAED 100 (~$27.23)5GB, 7 days, with callsPostpaidAED 20 (~$5.45)
    Voice and data, weeklyAED 100 (~$27.23)3GB, 7 days, with callsPrepaidAED 33.33 (~$9.08)
    Weekly dataAED 200 (~$54.46)10GB, 7 daysPrepaidAED 20 (~$5.45)
    Voice and data, weeklyAED 200 (~$54.46)30GB, 7 days, with callsPostpaidAED 6.67 (~$1.82)
    Voice and data, 15 daysAED 200 (~$54.46)10GB, 15 days, with callsPrepaidAED 20 (~$5.45)
    ComboAED 350 (~$95.30)15GB, 15 days, unlimited outgoing calls to the UAE and locallyPrepaidAED 23.33 (~$6.35)
    Two-month dataAED 500 (~$136.15)30GB, 60 daysBothAED 16.67 (~$4.54)
    Yearly dataAED 1,200 (~$326.75)50GB, 365 daysBothAED 24 (~$6.54)

    Postpaid lines also list two unlimited-data bundles, AED 200 for 7 days and AED 350 for 15 days with calls. We have not costed them in the itineraries below because du does not state a fair-use limit alongside them.

    Two bundles on du's shelf are also not available to you in Europe. The GCC bundles, AED 99 for 5GB over three days and AED 199 for unlimited data over ten, work only inside the Gulf states, and the Umrah bundle works only in Saudi Arabia. They are cheaper per gigabyte than most of the table above, and they are irrelevant the moment your flight is going anywhere else.

    For scale on the right-hand column: a Lotsotravel Europe 10GB plan at $8.95 works out at $0.89 per gigabyte, and the 30GB plan at $21.95 comes to $0.73. du's daily bundle, at $19.06 per gigabyte, costs about 21 times as much for the same byte, and even its best postpaid weekly is about three times as much.

    What five real trips cost on each side

    Five European itineraries, each priced against du's cheapest self-serve combination of bundles on a postpaid and on a prepaid line, not its most expensive. Where stacking a weekly bundle with a few daily ones beats buying two weeklies, that is what we quote. All Lotsotravel figures come from the live Europe regional plan catalogue on 19 October 2026.

    Tripdu postpaid, cheapest routedu prepaid, cheapest routeLotsotravel EuropeYou save
    5 days in Paris (3GB)AED 100 (~$27.23), 10GB weeklyAED 100 (~$27.23), 3GB weekly$4.95 (5GB / 5d)~$22 (82%)
    7 days in London (5GB)AED 100 (~$27.23), 10GB weeklyAED 200 (~$54.46), 10GB weekly$5.95 (5GB / 10d)~$21-49 (78-89%)
    10 days in Italy (8GB)AED 200 (~$54.46), 2× 10GB weeklyAED 200 (~$54.46), 10GB / 15 days$8.95 (10GB / 10d)~$46 (84%)
    14 days through Italy + France (10GB)AED 200 (~$54.46), 2× 10GB weeklyAED 200 (~$54.46), 10GB / 15 days$8.95 (10GB / 15d)~$46 (84%)
    21 days across Spain + Portugal + Greece (15GB)AED 300 (~$81.69), 3× 10GB weeklyAED 400 (~$108.92), 2× 10GB / 15 days$12.95 (15GB / 30d)~$69-96 (84-88%)

    Every row has du's allowance covering the trip. The saving sits in a 78-89% band across every trip length and both line types, and it is widest for prepaid customers on the 7-day and 21-day trips, because prepaid lines cannot buy the AED 100 10GB weekly. du's bundles scale with allowance rather than punishing long trips the way a pure daily fee does, which makes du's structure more rational than Rogers' or AT&T's; it does not make it competitive.

    Three crossover points fall out of the shelf, and du does not advertise them:

    1. Daily bundles lose to the weekly almost at once. Three AED 35 dailies cost AED 105, more than the AED 100 weekly on either line type, so the daily bundle only makes sense for a one- or two-day stopover.
    2. On postpaid, stacking weeklies stays cheaper than the two-month bundle until day 35. Five 10GB weeklies cover 35 days for AED 500, the same price as the 30GB / 60-day bundle.
    3. On prepaid, two 15-day bundles beat the two-month bundle up to 30 days. AED 400 for 20GB against AED 500 for 30GB, and the 15-day bundles also carry a calls allowance.

    Now the same five trips on the pure daily route, the AED 35 bundle bought each morning in the du app:

    Tripdu daily bundlesData you getLotsotravel EuropeYou save
    5 days in ParisAED 175 (~$47.65)2.5GB$4.95~$43 (90%)
    7 days in LondonAED 245 (~$66.71)3.5GB$5.95~$61 (91%)
    10 days in ItalyAED 350 (~$95.30)5GB$8.95~$86 (91%)
    14 days, Italy + FranceAED 490 (~$133.42)7GB$8.95~$124 (93%)
    21 days, Spain + Portugal + GreeceAED 735 (~$200.14)10.5GB$12.95~$187 (94%)

    Read the middle column before the last one. On this route a fortnight in Europe buys 7GB for $133, against 10GB for $8.95 on the eSIM. Nobody needs to buy it this way, because the weekly bundles above are cheaper, but it is the route a traveller falls into by default.

    The preferred-network catch

    du's bundle pricing applies on du's preferred networks, not on every network your handset can see. The FAQ is blunt about what happens otherwise: in a non-preferred country, the bundle does not work.

    du publishes the list at du.ae/preferredcountries and describes the footprint as "more than 120 destinations around the globe." Check your specific destination there before you fly, because the practical risk is not the big markets. It is border regions and rural areas, where a phone picks whichever signal is strongest rather than whichever operator appears on a list it has never read. Driving from Austria into Slovenia, or around the Irish border, is exactly where a handset re-registers without telling you.

    A Lotsotravel Europe eSIM has no second tier. The 33 covered countries are the 33 covered countries, and crossing from France into Italy or taking the Eurostar from London to Paris re-attaches the same plan to a local partner without a new QR code and without a different price.

    What the regulator does, and does not, do

    The UAE's Telecommunications and Digital Government Regulatory Authority requires something useful here. Article 17.4 of the Consumer Protection Regulations Version 2.0 obliges licensees, "where possible and practicable," to give mobile subscribers on standard roaming tariffs a way to be informed of the applicable retail roaming prices for calls, SMS and data. Article 17.5 requires that facility on first connection to a visited network abroad, free of charge. That is the welcome text message you get when you land, and du layers its own alerts on top, texting you at 70%, 80% and 100% of a bundle.

    What the regulations do not do is cap the price. There is no UAE equivalent of the EU's roam-like-at-home rule. AED 70 per gigabyte is disclosed, not limited.

    Dual-SIM workflow for du customers in Europe

    The setup that keeps your UAE number live for calls, bank OTPs and UAE PASS while your data runs at eSIM prices.

    Step 1. Buy the Europe eSIM 3-7 days before you fly

    Match the plan to your usage. Light users on maps, messaging and the occasional photo upload need 3-5GB a week. Heavy users running video calls or a laptop hotspot want closer to 1-2GB a day. Your QR code arrives by email and is also on your order page on the website.

    Step 2. Install the eSIM at home

    On iPhone: Settings → Cellular → Add eSIM → scan QR code. On Android: Settings → SIMs → Add eSIM → scan QR. Label the line "Travel" so it is unmistakable next to your du line. Apple's own guide to travelling with an eSIM covers the dual-SIM screens if you want a second reference.

    Step 3. Turn off data roaming on the du line before you board

    Settings → Cellular → tap the du line → Data Roaming OFF. On du this is belt and braces rather than a rescue, since an unbundled line is blocked from data anyway, but it stops the phone hunting for a connection it cannot use and keeps the line's behaviour predictable. Voice and SMS keep working, so OTPs still arrive.

    Step 4. Configure default lines

    • Cellular Data: Travel (the new eSIM)
    • Default Voice Line: du
    • iMessage / FaceTime: du
    • Allow Cellular Data Switching: OFF. This matters on any dual-SIM setup. It stops iOS quietly handing data back to the du line when the eSIM signal dips in the Paris Métro or a stone-walled restaurant in Rome.

    Step 5. Activate on arrival

    Turn on cellular data for the Travel line when you land. The eSIM attaches to a European partner in 30-60 seconds. Your UAE number keeps ringing, and du has nothing to bill you for.

    Pros

    • 78-89% cheaper than du's cheapest self-serve bundle combination across every itinerary we priced, on prepaid and postpaid
    • $0.89 per gigabyte on a Europe 10GB plan against $2.72 on du's best weekly and AED 70 (~$19.06) on its daily bundle
    • No 500MB cliff, no mid-day cut-off, and no second bundle to buy before dinner
    • One Europe eSIM covers 33 countries, with no preferred-network tier that stops working across a border
    • Your du number stays reachable for inbound calls, bank OTPs and UAE PASS
    • Works the same on a line that is prepaid in the UAE, where du's roaming shelf is filtered and restricted

    Cons

    • Requires an eSIM-compatible phone (iPhone XS/2018 or newer, most flagship Android phones from 2020+)
    • Five minutes of one-time setup against one SMS to 5102
    • Data-only: no voice plan, so calls run over WhatsApp, FaceTime or your du line
    • Does not fix the prepaid voice problem in markets that have retired 2G and 3G
    • If your handset fails abroad you cannot move the eSIM into a borrowed phone the way you can a physical SIM

    What this comparison leaves out

    The maths above isolates one variable: the cost of data. Three things sit outside it, and any of them could matter more than price on a given trip.

    Voice quality is the first. Both options route through European partner carriers, and quality depends on handset, codec and which partner you are handed to. We have no representative dataset for either side.

    Hotspot and tethering throughput is the second and harder one. du's bundles inherit whatever tethering rules your UAE plan carries; eSIM hotspot speed depends on the local European partner, which sometimes treats roaming traffic differently from its own subscribers. Congestion is the third: roaming agreements can deprioritise traffic during local peak load, and neither side guarantees anything inside a stadium or on a New Year's Eve rooftop.

    Two du limits are worth knowing. Bundles that du lists as activated through an account manager are not costed here, including a postpaid AED 70 bundle for 5GB over 7 days. And du's unlimited-data bundles are not costed because no fair-use limit is stated for them. If either beats the routes we priced for your trip, check it in the du app against the eSIM figures here; we are not going to guess at a competitor's terms and present them as a comparison.

    The buy

    du's roaming is the best-behaved product we have priced in this series, and still several times the price of an eSIM. Nothing bills you by accident, and the whole shelf fits on one screen. Then you work out the rate: AED 70 a gigabyte on the daily bundle, AED 10 at best on a postpaid weekly, against $0.89 on a Lotsotravel Europe 10GB plan.

    For a fortnight in Europe that is AED 200 against $8.95, for 33 countries on one eSIM. Install it before you fly, turn data roaming off on the du line, and keep your UAE number alive for the OTPs. The five minutes of setup pays for itself before you clear passport control in Paris.

    Browse Lotsotravel Europe plans

    One regional eSIM covers 33 European countries, from $4.95 USD. Live pricing, QR code delivered by email and on the website, no monthly commitment.

    Browse Lotsotravel eSIM Plans

    Frequently asked questions

    How much does du roaming cost in Europe in 2026?+
    du prices Europe off its global roaming shelf rather than a Europe rate, and the shelf depends on your line type. A postpaid line can buy AED 100 for 10GB valid 7 days (about $27.23 USD), AED 200 for unlimited data over 7 days, or AED 35 for 500MB over 24 hours (about $9.53). A prepaid line can buy AED 100 for 3GB over 7 days, AED 200 for 10GB over 7 or 15 days (about $54.46), or the same AED 35 daily bundle. Both can buy AED 500 for 30GB valid 60 days (about $136.15). For a one-week trip that is AED 100 on postpaid and AED 100-200 on prepaid, and for a fortnight it is AED 200 on either.
    What happens if I land in Europe with no du roaming bundle active?+
    Nothing is billed, and nothing works. du's prepaid roaming page is explicit: data roaming is blocked without an active roaming bundle, to protect you from unexpected charges. This is a better default than most carriers in this series, several of which quietly meter you at punitive per-megabyte rates instead. The trade-off is that there is no cheap middle ground either. Voice and SMS still run at du's standard roaming rates, which outside the GCC and the Arab countries list means AED 9 a minute to call the UAE, AED 1.25 a minute to receive a call, and AED 2 per outgoing SMS.
    Is the AED 35 daily bundle enough for one day in Europe?+
    For a light day, yes. For a normal one, no. 500MB covers maps, messaging and a few uploads, and runs out quickly on a day of navigation, boarding passes, photo backups and a video call home. When it runs out the bundle stops rather than throttling, so you buy another AED 35 bundle or go offline. Watch the auto-renewal version in particular: du's page states that if you finish the 500MB inside a day, the bundle does not renew early, it renews the next day. Burn the allowance at lunchtime and you are offline until tomorrow unless you buy a one-off on top.
    Do du's roaming bundles work everywhere in Europe?+
    They work on du's preferred networks, not on every network your phone can see. du says the bundles cover more than 120 destinations and publishes the list of preferred networks and countries at du.ae/preferredcountries, and its FAQ states plainly that the bundles will not work in a non-preferred country. The practical risk sits in border regions and rural areas, where a handset latches onto whichever signal is strongest rather than whichever operator is on a list. A Lotsotravel Europe eSIM has no second tier: the 33 covered countries are the 33 covered countries.
    Will my du number still receive bank OTPs and UAE PASS codes if I run data on an eSIM?+
    Yes. Keep the du line active for voice and SMS, turn its data roaming off, and route cellular data through the eSIM. Inbound SMS keeps working internationally without any roaming bundle, which covers UAE bank apps, UAE PASS, Emirates ID renewals and delivery notifications. Only outgoing SMS carries du's AED 2 charge and only answered calls carry the AED 1.25 per minute incoming rate, so keep voice on WhatsApp or FaceTime where you can.
    Are du's roaming bundles different on prepaid?+
    Yes, and the difference is price as well as terms. On prepaid, the cheapest weekly bundle is AED 100 for 3GB, while a postpaid line gets AED 100 for 10GB. Prepaid also has a 15-day AED 200 bundle with 10GB that postpaid does not list. Check your own price in the du app rather than assuming the published figures apply to you. One prepaid restriction matters more in Europe than anywhere else: du's prepaid roaming page warns that prepaid lines can use mobile data only on LTE while roaming, and that in destinations where the 2G and 3G networks have been shut down, calls and SMS will not work. Several European markets have retired those legacy networks. A prepaid du customer can therefore land in Europe with working data and a phone that will not ring.
    How does du compare with e& (Etisalat) for a European trip?+
    They are closer than the branding suggests, and they fail differently. e& sells more routes, including Roam Like Home weekly packs from AED 100 for postpaid Freedom customers, which draw on your home plan's allowance. Both block roaming data on a line with no pack, and du's shelf is simpler to read. Against either, the eSIM maths lands in the same band. Our e& comparison runs the same five itineraries if you want the other half of the UAE picture.

    Methodology

    How we did this comparison

    Every du figure in this post was read off du's own roaming pages on 19 October 2026. The roaming overview and its FAQ block list the headline bundles. The destination selector on that same page loads du's full bundle list for each line type from du's public data feed, and that list is where the weekly, 15-day and yearly bundles below come from. The prepaid roaming page carries the line-type warnings. Both pages are linked in the Sources list so you can check each number yourself.

    du does not sell a Europe-specific roaming product. Every European country sits in du's Zone A, and the bundles are priced by line type, allowance and validity rather than by destination. So every du figure below is a global bundle price applied to a European trip.

    The itineraries use the cheapest combination of bundles a consumer can buy themselves in the du app or by SMS, priced separately for prepaid and postpaid lines because the two shelves differ. Bundles du lists as activated through an account manager are left out, including a postpaid AED 70 bundle for 5GB over 7 days; if you can get one, price it against the eSIM figures here. Unlimited-data bundles are listed but not costed, because du's data does not state a fair-use limit for them.

    When we published our e& (Etisalat) comparison we left du out, on the grounds that its bundle pricing was not readable on the open web. That is no longer true, and this post is the correction.

    AED/USD conversions use the dirham's long-standing peg of AED 3.6725 to the US dollar. Because the peg holds, these figures do not drift the way our CAD and INR conversions do.

    Lotsotravel pricing comes from our live products API on 19 October 2026, quoted at the price a reader clicking through from this post pays. All Europe scenarios use the Europe regional plan, which covers 33 countries on a single eSIM.

    We do not measure voice call quality, hotspot and tethering throughput, or network congestion behaviour on either side, and we do not compare customer support.

    Sources & references

    We verify carrier and regulator pricing directly from primary sources before publishing. Pricing is current as of the article's last update — always confirm rates on the carrier's site before you travel.

    1. du roaming, bundle prices, standard rates and roaming FAQs — du (EITC)
    2. du prepaid roaming, line-type restrictions and bundle rules — du (EITC)
    3. du preferred networks and countries for roaming bundles — du (EITC)
    4. Consumer Protection Regulations Version 2.0, Article 17 (roaming price notifications) — UAE Telecommunications and Digital Government Regulatory Authority (TDRA)
    5. TDRA regulations and rulings index — UAE Telecommunications and Digital Government Regulatory Authority (TDRA)
    6. AED to USD reference rate — XE
    7. Lotsotravel Europe regional eSIM — Lotsotravel
    8. Lotsotravel destinations and live pricing — Lotsotravel
    9. Apple Support, use eSIM while travelling internationally with your iPhone — Apple

    About the author

    Lotsotravel Team

    The Lotsotravel editorial team writes hands-on guides for international travelers. We test eSIMs on real devices in real destinations, monitor Canadian and U.S. carrier pricing weekly, and compare coverage across local network partners before we recommend a plan. Every comparison post is updated when carriers change their rates so the numbers you read here match what you would pay today.

    Last updated: October 19, 2026

    Comparisons
    Published
    Last updated
    Updated
    Reading time
    11 min read

    Share this article

    Get your eSIM

    Data that works the moment you land, with no roaming bill waiting for you at home.

    Browse plans